A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

book club March 16, 2010

Filed under: books and reading — courtsbrogno @ 5:01 pm

This evening, I will attend my book club meeting. When I am there, I will see friends and colleagues, all of whom I love and, more importantly, respect. This is one of the few times I get up and go out, highly anticipating a riveting conversation. Everyone in our group is an instructor at one (or both) of the two local colleges–a university and a community college. Everyone, except for one lone math instructor, teaches writing or literature. Everyone in our group is a humanitarian. Everyone is intelligent (way more than me).

Tonight we are discussing Martin Amis’s book House of Meetings:


Sometimes we like the book and sometimes we don’t. Our rule: during the school year, we read contemporary fiction or poetry. During the summer, we read a classic. In the end, though, it’s not our book choices that matter; it’s the time I get to spend with stimulating, engaging, benevolent people.

Today, I am thankful for my book club.

 

Leave a Reply

