A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

babysitter found! March 27, 2010

Filed under: kids,work — courtsbrogno @ 8:10 pm

Amidst all the chaos of my morning, revolving mostly around planning my next quarter at the university (starting on Monday), I came to a realization: I did not have a babysitter for some of the hours I’m gone teaching. While it may be a little late in the game for me to realize this, I was waiting on my former babysitter to get me her new work schedule. Though, I could have planned ahead better.

But, to be honest, I’m a late in the game kind of woman. I’d like to blame this on my hectic life, but I’ve been like this since I was a child–before I had anything important going on. As a matter of fact, when I was 10 I had a great idea to put my clothes on at night for the next day, thus allowing me to sleep in longer and avoid getting yelled at for not being ready to leave for school. Unfortunately, it only lasted two days before my mom vetoed my great idea. And this leads me up to today, where I’ve been meaning to change my cell phone plan to save me money for FOUR months and still have yet to do this.

Anyway, once I realized I had some empty hours, I scrambled calling babysitters. One got back to me. I’ve never met her, but she came recommended. We agreed to meet tonight. Fortunately, she was nice, came with letters of recommendation, and overall seemed like a genuinely nice and caring person. I hired her. And I let out a sigh of relief.

Disaster avoided. Babysitter found. Today I am thankful for my new babysitter.

Because–clearly–this was not going to cut it:

 

One Response to “babysitter found!”

  1. Your clothes scenario reminds me of one time in third or fourth grade when I thought that getting ready for dance class (which met after school) would be much easier if I just wore my tap shoes to school. I should probably mention that all of the hallways were indoors. Without carpet.

    You can imagine how *that* worked out.


Leave a Reply

