A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

a healthy dinner March 28, 2010

Filed under: food — courtsbrogno @ 8:17 pm

I’ve been so busy lately that I’ve had no time to go to the grocery story, and therefore, had no real food in the house at all. So in between getting ready to teach tomorrow and catching up on housework, the kids and I took a trip to Trader Joes and Vons, where I spent $250 and stocked up.

And I actually planned ahead and went to the store with a list! I planned out healthy dinners and bought accordingly. I felt like such a good mother!

And then tonight, for the first time in about a week, I made dinner. And a really healthy dinner. A dinner from Martha Stewart’s magazine (I may not be crafty, but I can cook!).

Tonight we had roasted garlic and thyme chicken; a pea, asparagus, and micro-green salad with homemade dressing; and bread.

And while I am thankful that I made such a great and healthy dinner, I am most thankful for the fact that I had the time to do this. Lounging around the kitchen on a late Sunday afternoon, splitting peas and crushing garlic, is a GREAT way to end a week!

 

Leave a Reply

