A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

freedom April 6, 2010

Filed under: adult fun — courtsbrogno @ 9:40 pm

This is my couch:

This is my bed:

What makes these images worth sharing (besides the fact that I need a new couch), is what you don’t see either on the bed or on the couch.

My kids.

That’s right, both my kids are gone tonight. Luke is spending the night with his father and Maddie is spending the night with her grandparents.

This is freedom for me, if only for one night.

When I came home from work at 5, I had no plans. I sat on my couch without someone cuddling up to me or calling out my name in need of something. I graded in peace for one hour. Then my sister called me and asked if I wanted to go to dinner with her and my aunt (another aunt, Debbie, who is in town visiting this week). At first I thought, “Oh, I don’t have a babysitter. Can’t go.” And then I realized….I don’t need a babysitter! I can just get up off the couch and go…I can go anywhere!

This freedom is amazing.

So I went to dinner, not worrying about paying a babysitter or feeling guilty for being away. We had a LONG and fun dinner. I thought about all the other things I could do with my night off but what I really just wanted to do was to come home and read….in peace.

So I came home and looked at my bed. Since I co-sleep with Luke and Maddie usually jumps in bed a few times a week as well, the thought of sleeping by myself was almost exhilarating (I am not exaggerating either). I can lie sideways; I can sleep naked if I want (I wouldn’t, but the point is I COULD!); I can roll around for awhile; I can sleep without being woken up; I can read in bed with the light ON!

This is freedom!!!! And while I guarantee I will put my head on my pillow and instantly miss both my kids (and hug them and kiss them probably too much tomorrow), for right now, I am so, so, so thankful for one night of total and complete freedom!

 

One Response to “freedom”

  1. GEW Says:

    I love this post.

    So, what did you read?

    🙂


Leave a Reply

