A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

birthday party April 11, 2010

Filed under: family fun,friends,kids — courtsbrogno @ 8:04 pm

Luke had a birthday party today and all his friends came over to play, eat, and have cake.

But let’s be real: while there were a lot of kids, Luke is only two, so mostly this was a party to celebrate Luke, of course, but also for friends to get together.

The weather was terrible and rain was forecast, so instead of having the party at an awesome park, I had to entertain at my house. Which meant many things. Mainly cleaning a lot. And cooking a bit. I made a hot dog bar, which was both inexpensive and easy, but then I also made a pasta salad and a fruit salad as well. (Actually, I am super thankful for Tasha who helped me clean, cook–she made the pasta salad, and then clean up after the party. She’s like my husband…but better!).  We also had chips, carrots, and of course, a kick-ass Sesame Street cake:

Overall, it was a fun party. It’s hard to tell when you’re in the thick of it, but it looked to be pretty successful. Luke had a great time, and even though my house is small, everyone fit and it didn’t seem too crowded.

Today, I am thankful for all my friends and family who traveled–in crazy rain and wind–to eat some dogs, catch up on life, and most importantly, celebrate two years of Luke.

Thank you (Maddie’s wrote this sign and posted it on our door):

 

One Response to “birthday party”

  1. GEW Says:

    Glad it was fun. No surprise since I always have fun at your house. Sorry we missed it! I assume you got my message about us being out of town. Happy b-day, Luke!


Leave a Reply

