A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

sweethearts and elmo April 12, 2010

Filed under: kids,noticing sweetness — courtsbrogno @ 9:16 pm

I have been trying to cut down on my sugar intake for about a month now, and I’ve been failing miserably. I love all things sweet, and I can eat candy any time of the day, even for breakfast.

So this past month has been a sad month for me: no more hot tamales, gummy bears, or red vines. Well, that’s not true. I should say less hot tamales, gummy bears, and red vines.

And today, I was craving sweets. And there was nothing in the house at all. Not one stray gummy bear to be found. Until I ventured into Maddie’s room. Jackpot. Leftover Valentine’s Day candy!

Of course, there is a reason that Maddie hasn’t already eaten this candy. It was totally stale. But I ate a few hardened sweethearts, reading their modern sayings–“text me”–and felt oddly satisfied.

Today, I am thankful for Maddie’s hidden bounty.

Then tonight I put Luke in a new pair of pajamas: some super cute, kind of old school Elmo pajamas, and he looked so adorable that I snapped a picture. I’m thankful for Luke’s new pajamas. They make me smile.

 

Leave a Reply

