A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

taxes April 14, 2010

Filed under: noticing sweetness — courtsbrogno @ 8:56 pm

The past three years I have owed money to the IRS. Partly this was because of not changing my W2s from when I made under $20,000/year and partly it was because I was technically married the last 2 years and had to file as “married filing separately,” which meant I couldn’t claim head of household or any child care credits. All in all, the last few years have seriously sucked.

Which is why I dread April 15th and why I didn’t file my taxes until tonight.

But this year, I am thankful–super thankful–for this year’s taxes because for the first time in awhile…

I’M GETTING MONEY BACK.

Well, not really. Since I owe money from previous years and pay off a bit each month, it’ll just go toward that. But it’s still really, really, really nice to not have to owe ANYTHING for this year!

Yippee. I think I’ll celebrate by buying my kids something sweet (and small) this weekend. Maybe an ice cream cone…maybe a small toy…maybe a new pair of shoes (oh, wait…that’s what I want!)

 

Leave a Reply

