A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

free tickets! April 15, 2010

Filed under: kindness toward me,work — courtsbrogno @ 8:54 pm

In the town I live in, we have a great historic movie theater, built in the early 1940s and known as one of the last art deco theaters designed by famed architect, S. Charles Lee. What makes this theater even better than its awesome history is that every other week, on Tuesday nights, it shows old(er) films. I’ve seen The Wizard of Oz, Casablanca, and waited in line to see The Goonies, only to have the tickets sell out right before we made it to the ticket agent. Last week they showed The Godfather. Next week, they’re showing The Princess Bride.

That’s right. The Princess Bride. I’m so excited I can barely contain myself. I have loved this movie since I first saw it in the theaters when I was 11, I’ve written an article about it, and it’s one of the few movies that my daughter and I can sit down and watch together and actually both enjoy! Maddie and I can’t wait to see it on the big screen.

But there’s a little problem. The movie starts at 7:30 and I teach until 7:30. No problem, though. I told my class on Tuesday that I’d be letting them out a little early so I could make it to the movie. They understood. A few said they might go as well.  One student told the class she used to work for this theater and to get tickets early as they often sell out. She recommended buying the tickets 2 days in advance.

Then in class tonight, this student came up and told me she spoke to her old boss, the manager of this particular theater, and arranged for me to have 2 free tickets.

2 free tickets! I am so happy.

And, of course, thankful. This is not a kiss-ass student. She is a just a really kind student who went out of her way to do something nice for me. Even if I had worked at a movie theater when I was in college, I don’t think I’d procure a free ticket for an instructor, no matter how early she let out the class. It’s not that I’m not a nice person; it’s just that I don’t think I’d think about doing something like that for someone that I didn’t really know. (I just reread that sentence and not only is it poorly worded, it also makes me seem really shallow and ungrateful. But, hey, between the ages of 18-22, I was. But not now…well, I’ve definitely improved).

So tonight I am thankful for a kind student, someone who at such a young age thinks outside her own little bubble. Someone who is wiser and kinder that me–by multitudes–when I was her age. I’m also thankful for the movie, The Princess Bride. Can’t wait for Tuesday.

 

3 Responses to “free tickets!”

  1. GEW Says:

    That is SO cool!

  2. Jen Says:

    I am so jealous. And, what a great student!

  3. christine Says:

    man, i miss being your student… :[


Leave a Reply

