A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

trader joe’s April 27, 2010

Filed under: food — courtsbrogno @ 8:40 pm

I know, I know…this may seem like a weak day. I am thankful for Trader Joe’s today? Come on!

Well, it was a weak day in terms of thankfulness. I felt like a rushed around all day and I am feeling really stressed about all the work I have coming up. I don’t think I paid good enough attention today.

But, seriously, the one break I had today was taking Luke to Trader Joe’s. We needed some serious food. Since tomorrow is Wednesday and I’m going to make a good dinner, I needed ingredients. We also needed lunch stuff: bread, ham, cheese, granola bars, juice boxes, etc. Finally, we needed snacks…badly. Luke had been snacking on carrots and bland crackers for a few days. Luke crushing the crackers into the floor was him signaling to me that we needed some other alternatives.

When Luke and I arrived at Trader Joe’s, we got a cart and just started strolling up and down the aisles. We shopped slowly and didn’t rush. I opened a bag of popcorn for Luke to eat, I had some of their sample coffee, and I even ran into a friend I haven’t seen in a while. We also looked and found Sammy the Seal (did you know they hide Sammy the Seal in a new place everyday and if your kids find it, they get a treat?). At the check out, I chatted with the checker, helped bag our groceries, and then Luke got a balloon as we left.

As I drove home, I began to think about how much I like this store. Everyone that works there is so nice and helpful, it’s reasonably priced, it has unique food options, and they give free balloons to kids! Who does that these days?

While it may seem like a stretch to be thankful for Trader Joe’s, I really, really, really am. Perhaps it is just the fact that it’s a great grocery store, but perhaps I’m so enamored by Trader Joe’s today because going there was the only time all day I got to relax, hang with Luke, and not feel rushed or stressed out.

It’s probably a combination of the two, but today I’m thankful for Trader Joe’s.

 

One Response to “trader joe’s”

  1. christine Says:

    haha so yea, is it super nerdish dorky that derek and i always look for sammy the seal?? ( i always find him/her before derek too…he sucks at looking for things!)


Leave a Reply

