A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

painted love April 28, 2010

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 9:07 pm

Since today is my day of only teaching one class, I thought about all the fun things I could do with Luke. We went to the park, went to music class, played at home, played at my sister’s, went to the movie store (maybe not so much fun for him), and then made dinner. It was a good day, though a busy day.

But of all those things, I am thankful for some other things today.

First, letting Luke play with my super cheap sunglasses. He had so much fun.

Second, after Luke went to bed, I sat down to watch a movie my brother recommended (Tenure. Not every good.) and decided to paint my toenails. This doesn’t seem like much, I know, but it really is. I refuse to pay for pedicures and I rarely have time to paint my toenails. But when I do, it feels so good–like I’m ready to put on the sexiest shoes I have and go out. Well, that didn’t happen and I stayed sitting on my couch, but it definitely lifted my spirits.

Finally, this evening Maddie received a phone call from a boy in her class. This boy has been calling rather frequently this school year, often asking for homework answers and such. But tonight he called to ask IF MADDIE LIKED HIM!!!!

So exciting! She said, “I like you as a friend.”

He said, “O.K. geeezzzzz.” And then he hung up.

I’m not one of those moms who pushes her kid to have crushes. You know, those moms who talk to their friends about how their kids will be dating in high school and how they can’t wait. Nope, I don’t do that. In fact, I’d be really, seriously happy if Maddie didn’t have her first date until college!

But it was the first time this had happened and it was so cute. I remember having these conversations with boys when I was young, and although I, like Maddie, didn’t like the boys or the conversations, it was a nice ego boost. And I’m sure Maddie felt rather flattered. Furthermore, I really liked how she handled it! I’m proud she told him she liked him as a friend. She handled it well–without any help from me!!!

But then I had to kinda ruin it when I posed the question this question to Maddie:

“How are you going to handle seeing him tomorrow? I mean, he sits right next to you.”

You should have seen the look on her face. Priceless.

 

One Response to “painted love”

  1. Jen Says:

    So, what sexy shoes were you gonna put on?
    Your converse?
    Maybe your boots?
    Black flats?
    Next time I am in your closet i am going to find a pair of shoes that would have shown off your pedi. Then I am going to make you wear them.
    G’nite.


Leave a Reply

