A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

mother’s day May 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 7:20 pm

Today is one of my favorite days of the year. I LOVE being a mother. When Maddie was born, I was only 23 and my life changed so much for the better. I never would have guessed then how much I would enjoy waking up to happy faces, staying up late nursing babies, folding load after load of laundry, singing silly songs, going to the park, and sleeping with both my kids snuggled up to me.

All of these things were not part of my life before becoming a mother, and I honestly can’t imagine my life without them.

And Mother’s Day this year was great.

It started with Maddie playing with Luke from 6-7:30, so I could get some extra rest in bed–heaven!

Then, it got even better when my brother-in-law showed up with a latte and scone for me! So nice.

As soon as my brother-in-law left, Maddie was giddy with excitement to give me her gift:

Isn’t it beautiful? She made it in her class, and it’s the best “class” gift I’ve ever received from her. I’m keeping it hanging in my room for as long as it lasts.

After lounging around the house for a bit, we headed out for a pretty easy hike. This was what I had been looking forward to all week. I love hiking and love going on a hike with my kids.

Luke even walked about a third of it himself:

But then I had to carry him, which I didn’t mind at all!

And the best part? Maddie didn’t whine or complain the entire time!

After the hike, we had to rush and head over to my sister’s house, where her local beach park was putting on a free concert. It was a beautiful day.

We met my mom and dad, my sister and her family, and some other family friends. We got a perfect spot right in front of the stage.

And Maddie and Luke had a great time as well.

It was wonderful to lie in the sun, relax, and chat with friends and family, but we came home exhausted.

I know some moms expect flowers or diamonds or great trips, but I’m just so thankful to be able to spend the day doing fun things with my kids. Even if we just sat at home all day doing nothing, I’d still be thankful to be with them.

And today is a day when I honor my own mother, I’m so thankful for her–she raised me with some awesome morals. It was nice to see her today.

And I’m thankful for all the moms I know. I constantly learn from them what I can do better with my own kids.

Being a mom is amazing, the most important job I’ve ever had, and I truly love every second of it.

 

One Response to “mother’s day”

  1. GEW Says:

    Yay! Glad you had such a great day!


Leave a Reply

