A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

no t.v. May 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 7:39 pm

From the time Maddie was born until we moved into our current house about 5 years ago, we didn’t have cable, and the only form of T.V. we had was a local channel obtained from an antennae and movies. It was heaven.

When we moved into our current house, cable and T.V. came with our house–we didn’t have to pay for it either. Now, this seemed like heaven.  For about a year now, the house has been upgraded to Direct T.V. where we have about 500 channels at our disposal.

And while I don’t  consider my T.V. watching excessive–in fact, I’d even call in minimal–it has been nice for Luke to watch Sprout when I’m trying to get work done and to have something to watch in the evening when my mind cannot hold anything but brain candy.

But this morning, Maddie rushed into my room as soon as she woke up, shaking me until both Luke and I woke up, to let me know that the Direct T.V. wasn’t working. You’d have thought there was a major emergency from the tone in her voice.

So I got up and contacted my friend, who lives in the front house (we live in a granny unit behind the front house, and though we have Direct T.V., we are not getting it illegally) to ask what had happened. Apparently she forgot to pay the bill, but assured me she’d take care of it today.

Thus, my entire day was spent without T.V.

And while I was panicked about not having Sprout to keep Luke occupied for an hour or so, so I could get some work done (seriously, the essays are piling up), there was nothing I could do. I had to entertain him the old-fashioned way–read books to him, play with him, and act out the role of a monster several times.

Suffice to say, I didn’t get any work done.

But, I did enjoy my day after all. It was so quiet, and I got some pleasure reading done while Luke napped next to me. Tonight, I’ll probably get all the work done I would have done this morning and only because there’s no T.V. to veg out to.

So, today I’m thankful for our TV break. And though I’ll be grateful for it to be turned back on for the next few weeks while I finish a massive amount of work coming my way, perhaps during the summer months I’ll unplug the whole system altogether.

Well, I may be over reaching, so we’ll see about that. I’m not making any promises….

 

Leave a Reply

