A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

love in marin May 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 8:49 pm

There’s something about San Francisco that I love; in fact, of all the cities I’ve been to (New York, L.A., London, Santiago), San Francisco is by far my favorite.

Maybe it’s the liberal attitude, the acceptance of anyone–whether from a different state, country, sexual orientation, or even a bizarre clothing style.

Maybe it’s the foggy weather that often matches my common disposition.

Maybe it’s the beautiful Golden Gate bridge, which I had the opportunity to drive over early this afternoon:

But alas, I didn’t get to spend much time in San Francisco for we were on our way to Marin County for a wedding.

Once in Marin, we went directly to the wedding of my brother-in-law’s father.

Both Cate and Luke had a wonderful time playing in the grass before the wedding:

Cate was a beautiful flower girl:

Jon, my brother-in-law, was a proud son:

Luke actually sat on my lap for most of the ceremony and was good, though the lollipop my sister gave him helped:

And then the bride and groom walked down the aisle and were married. They read their vows to each other and they were moving; tears sprung to my eyes.

I think the reason I liked this wedding so much was because it really represented hope. Both Anita and Steve had been previously married; Steve for over 30 years. I don’t know much about either of their marriages, and if there’s one thing I’ve learned in my life, it’s that you can never walk in another’s shoes, no matter how hard you try; To extend that metaphor even further, you can never understand someone else’s marriage. Period.

Thus, I make no judgment on the end of a long marriage (though, let me be clear, it wasn’t scandalous; more like a constant growing a part). And while both parties and children of a divorce hurt, sometimes for a long time, and sometimes even forever, it is nice to see that love can be found again.

I’ve worked with some pretty bitter divorced women. These women scare me and I wonder if I will be like them. Sometimes I find myself having a pity party, thinking that no one will ever love me again. Ever. I will spend the rest of my life alone. With lots of cats and dogs.

Can you see how dramatic I can be?

But seeing Steve and Anita find love at an older age (I didn’t say OLD, just older), and really, truly love each other and be happy, and even be willing to share this with their closest friends and family, well….that gives me HOPE and LOVE and a BELIEF that I can’t let my heart shrink and disappear. I must stay open. I am thankful for the gift of love I saw today.

Like cake and flowers, sweet and organic, that’s how I feel today:

 

Leave a Reply

