A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

cooking May 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 9:21 pm

I know it may seem like I cook a lot, but I really don’t. Plus, I feel like I haven’t made a good dinner in forever. And this weekend at the wedding, my sister had the most amazing pea and asparagus risotto that I’ve been thinking about ever since.

Since today was so sunny and summer is right around the corner, I ignored all the work that’s been piling up and decided to try to make the same risotto.

It came out good, but not nearly as good as the one my sister had at the restaurant. However, it was nice to stand over the stove, slowly stirring in chicken stock, just a little at a time. That’s what’s so great about  risotto. You literally can’t step away for more than a few minutes, if even that. I love just standing, stirring, and doing nothing else. It’s like all I have to think about for 45 minutes is not burning the rice. When life gets really busy and hectic like it is now, it’s good to know that I can concentrate on one thing and have a good dinner as a result. I wish life was more like risotto. I wish I could just sit and concentrate for 45 minutes and everything would turn out good.

Ahhhhh…I’m thankful for risotto tonight.

 

2 Responses to “cooking”

  1. GEW Says:

    But I don’t know how you can concentrate for 45 minutes with two kids in the house! That risotto looks FAB. I’d love the recipe if you care to send it. I can’t wait to cook more this summer!

  2. tash Says:

    Thanks for dinner. It was amazing!


Leave a Reply

