A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

holy shit! May 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 9:27 pm

The title to this post says it all. I’m in shock…literal shock.

I just finished grading one of the classes from the community college–the remedial writing course.

I have to admit, I dreaded going to this class before it started. The entire duration of winter break, I bemoaned this class, I lamented in my poor luck, I cursed the way classes are assigned.

Partly this was because of the time slot, but mostly this was because of the type of student who generally take this evening remedial course. I’ve taught this course at this time slow before and have had nightmares about the students throughout the entire semester and even for a while after the class ended. But as seen in my post here, I learned early on that these student were different…and special.

So while I lost a few students throughout the semester (the class started small to begin with), I ended the course with only 12 students. But like I said in my past post, these students tried so hard and in the end, really kicked ass!

So, while I did have to give out 4 F’s to students who stopped coming (months ago), the rest of the class received:

2 As

5 A-s

2 Bs

1 B-

1 C+

1 C

This is UNBELIEVABLE!

First of all, over half the class received an A or A-

Second, the students who stayed throughout the semester all passed the class.

Third, and perhaps most importantly, I HAVE NEVER GIVEN THIS MANY A’s IN MY ENTIRE TEACHING CAREER AT EITHER SCHOOL.

Fourth, I’m a tough instructor and grader, and so all these students deserved these grades–there is absolutely no fluffing, padding, or sympathy grades, EVER.

So tonight I’m so incredibly thankful–again–for this class.I can’t wait until they see their grades…they will be so pleased and proud!!!

I’m just beaming right now. I don’t think I’ve ever been so proud of a class before.

Yay students!!! I hope they all go very far in life. It’ll be a pleasure to watch what they can accomplish.

 

Leave a Reply

