A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

ending… June 11, 2010

Filed under: work — courtsbrogno @ 5:41 pm

As I sit and type this, my students are taking their last final:

It’s a 4-7 p.m. Friday final. The only thing that could be worse is having the 7-10 p.m. Friday slot. So while we all bemoaned having a final so late in the week, I for one am thankful it’s not from 7-10p.m.

This class was one of my all time favorite classes ever. They were kind, witty, diligent, hard-working, and overall just really good people, let alone great students. I’m going to miss this class. A LOT.

But still, I am so damn thankful that this is the last time I will sit in a classroom at the university until mid-September, I can barely contain my excitement.

Though I still have a bunch of work to do this weekend:

Still, summer is right around the corner.

Which leads me to be thankful for one more thing today. The idea of growing up.

As I drove to campus this afternoon, this is what I saw:

Hundreds of cars on campus, parked next to the dorms, filled with excited parents packing their kid up after his/her first year of college. And it dawned on me: Do these parents realize that the kid they dropped off in September is surely not the kid they are picking up today?

I look at my freshmen students and marvel at how much they have grown in just 9 months of college. But this is the beauty of college, is it not? As a freshman, you are thrown out of your safe little world and into a relatively large campus, where people are totally different than you, smarter than you, and more experienced than you; where the work is much more difficult than you ever imagined, where the instructors don’t really give a damn about you, and where you are left alone to fend without the help of your parents.

Most freshman survive. It’s kind of amazing that they do, actually.

But today I kind of swelled up with emotion watching these parents pick up their kids. I thought about how in just 8 short years that will be me picking up Maddie.

And then I thought I may just have to go to college with Maddie because if she does half the things my freshmen students do, then I’ll kick her ass! Hard.

Yet, I know she’ll survive…I’m sure. Somehow, they all do.

 

Leave a Reply

