A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

father’s day June 20, 2010

Filed under: family fun,self-discovery — courtsbrogno @ 6:43 pm

Father’s day. Such a weird day for me.

On one hand, I’m grateful for fathers and all the amazing things they do. On the other hand, I’ve known too many fathers who have taken off, ignoring their parental duties. So as much as I want to celebrate fathers, I also want to celebrate all the moms I know–whether they are single moms or married moms–who often take on the role of fathers and do a tremendous job raising their children.

In a sweet moment, Maddie said, “Happy Father’s Day Mom, cause you’re like a mom and a dad.”

So to celebrate that, I took a hike up one of my favorite mountains (I’m not sure if it’s really a mountain but that’s what we call it) this morning sans kids. I haven’t hiked this mountain in about 6 months, and it showed. My legs were hurting on the way up. I felt so out of shape.

But I love looking at a trail going up, knowing that I was close to the top:

And then reaching the top and looking at the views of my hometown:

Then walking down, just me and the dog, gave me such a sense of accomplishment and serenity:

Then I was home, cleaning out my pantry and putting away all our trip luggage. A few hours later and the kids and I were off to my parent’s house to have a Father’s Day BBQ.

Two of my absolute favorite fathers, my Dad and my brother-in-law, Jon:

I love these men. My dad does so much for us and so does my brother-in-law. They are father figures to both my kids, especially to Maddie. I would seriously be lost without them. No joke. I’m not even using hyperbole.

I am so thankful for the awesome fathers I know. I am also thankful for all the moms I know who take on both parental roles. I continually learn how to be a better person and mother because of them.

 

Leave a Reply

