A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

summer solstice June 21, 2010

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 5:37 pm

Today is summer solstice. The longest day of the year. And very appropriate since today felt like my first actual day of summer.

Of course I’ve been finished with work for exactly one week, but with traveling last week and then spending yesterday unpacking, cleaning up, and with family, it hasn’t yet felt like summer for me.

Today, however, was a glorious day of nothing to do. This doesn’t mean I didn’t do anything, but the fact that I didn’t have to made the day feel like summer should always feel–endless.

I slept in with the kids. Padded around in my pajamas. Worked in the yard all day. Played in the sprinklers with Luke. Visited some friends. Ate lunch when we felt like it.

The best part of the day: lying down with Luke for his nap while I just read a book.

Actually, I lied. The best part of my day was the fact that I had no work looming over me, making relaxation impossible. Sure there are closets to be emptied, clothes to be put away, a bathroom to be cleaned, and I could, of course, begin working on my classes for Fall, but all that can wait.

Until later. Until an indefinite time.

I am thankful for today, the first day of relaxation I have felt since summer ended last year.

I’m looking forward to many more days like this.

 

Leave a Reply

