A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

cleaning house June 30, 2010

Filed under: noticing sweetness — courtsbrogno @ 7:05 pm

This week (and next week as well) has been devoted to cleaning house. Unpacking all the drawers, closets, cabinets, and even moving furniture to get out the old and make room for another year of throwing stuff in. All of this will, surely, be repeated next summer.

It’s both frustrating and exhilarating.

I have to wonder, while I do this, how so much stuff can get jam-packed into a closet or under a bed. But it feels so nice to have one room at a time clean, clean, clean.

Today, I did my room. And to be honest, this is probably the first time (and perhaps the last time for a long while) that my room has been this clean. Every–I repeat, EVERY–closet, drawer, desk, and underneath everything as well has been cleaned.

The closet is organized and clean:

(I realize, upon looking at this photo, that my closet may not seem clean and organized, but trust me, it most definitely is.)

 

The desk has been swept free of clutter and dusted:

(Actually, all that clutter has just been moved onto the dining room table to be sorted and stored tomorrow)

 

The entire room is practically sparkling with cleanliness:

(I even washed the duvet cover and fluffed the pillows!)

I honestly cannot wait to climb into bed tonight and read my book while Luke falls asleep next to me. I am so thankful for my clean, clean room.

Virginia Woolfe said, “It seems as if an age of genius must be succeeded by an age of endeavor; riot and extravagance by cleanliness and hard work.” I like this. It makes me feel like the 9 months behind me of teaching and working like crazy have been a whole lot of riot and a bit of extravagance. Now onto figure out my own genius and then to put that to some serious endeavors.

Hmmm…where to begin? I’ll probably just start with Maddie’s room tomorrow. Then onto figuring out the genius in me. Or maybe the next day.

 

One Response to “cleaning house”

  1. GEW Says:

    We’re not doing our long summer trip this summer–just so we can purge and clean! Your room looks great!


Leave a Reply

