A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

a random act of kindness July 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 7:27 pm

Last night, my friend and the guy who lives in the studio on my property, Jason called to let me know that he was coming back from 2 weeks surfing in Baja. He anticipated he would be home around 10 p.m. though he would just rush off to see his girlfriend. However, he informed me that the guy he had hitched a ride up with would probably be staying at his house overnight and not to freak out if I saw some random dude in the backyard. “He’s a teacher, ” he said, “no need to worry.”

The only reason I’d need to know this is because Jason’s studio doesn’t have any running water so he shares my bathroom and kitchen when needed. This means any guest of Jason’s also uses my bathroom/kitchen. No problem, I said.I told him to tell this guy to pee outside during the night (as I obviously would lock my door) and to come on over in the morning for the bathroom, some coffee, or some eggs (seriously, someone come eat the eggs that I’m collecting from my chickens!).

This morning I saw Jason as I drove by his girlfriend’s house and he asked me if I’d seen his friend.

“Nope,” I said.

When I returned home, I looked around and saw no one. But about 10 minutes later there was a knock on my door and some guy was standing there with flowers in his hand.

Kevin was his name and he brought me flowers to thank me for my hospitality. “Ummmmm…I’m a bit confused here,” I said, “I didn’t actually do anything; I didn’t even know you were here.”

He just smiled and said that he was happy that I was OK with him staying in Jason’s room and possibly using my bathroom. And then we chatted; he asked about my kids, my job, etc. He didn’t use the bathroom or the kitchen either (and I forgot to send him off with some eggs. Damn!).

Honestly.  This man was the nicest man I think I’ve ever met (either that or he’s a serial killer who just staked out my place for his next attack–oh stop crazy head who watches too much news).

Anyway, the flowers brightened my day, and I’m so thankful for Kevin’s random act of kindness.

 

One Response to “a random act of kindness”

  1. christine Says:

    ummmmm HELLLO?! no picture?!?!?! :[ he sounds awesome…..!!!!!!!!!!!! like a beautiful man….


Leave a Reply

