A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

routines July 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 5:56 pm

We’re getting into a great summer routine in my household, and it goes a little something like this:

6:30-8:00a.m.–Wake up. Don’t rush. Eat breakfast when we feel like it.

8:00-4:00p.m.–Play, visit friends, go outside, trash the house.

4:00-5:30p.m.–Trash the house some more.

5:30-6:30p.m.–Maddie takes Luke upstairs to play. I clean the house, sweep and mop, and cook dinner.

6:30-7:00p.m.–Eat dinner.

7:00-7:30p.m.–Baths for Maddie and Luke. I clean up–again, though with all the time in the world, I don’t care how  many times I have to clean up.

7:30-8:30p.m.–Luke in bed. I read him a book. The nightly Luke gymnastics begins before he finally falls asleep.  Maddie free to do whatever she wants to do (absolute happiness from Maddie because of this).

8:30-11:00p.m.–I lie in bed with Luke and while he sleeps, I read. I’ve read so many books this summer already. And I’ve clocked in almost zero T.V. time. Seems like when my brain isn’t fried from working, I can actually absorb more written material.

To many, I know, this may seem like the most boring way to spend a summer. And there are many who hate routines, usually me included. And don’t get me wrong, there are often times that we break from this routine, but, to be honest, not very much. The reality? I don’t care. I’m so happy, I’m practically radiating bliss.

I’m thankful for summer routines.

 

One Response to “routines”

  1. GEW Says:

    What a perfect routine! And it’s perfect because it has all of that open, flexible time in the middle!

    I want to know some of the books you’ve liked best. I’ve been thrashing around, trying to find some good evening reading that is good but not too heavy.

    BTW, I’ve been meaning to comment on all of your posts about friends. You seem to spend so much time with friends and to have so many great friends! I think that’s fantastic.


Leave a Reply

