A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

Tahoe. July 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 7:03 pm

Yesterday, we left at noon for Tahoe: me and my kids, my sister and her family, and my aunt.  We arrived at 8:30p.m.

We stopped 4 times: once for me to pee (on the side of the road, I might add); then for gas; again at our friend Betsy’s house to eat dinner and let the kids out to play for an hour; and finally, a coffee stop for me, as I was getting tired.

It felt so good to finally get here, though it was pretty much dark outside and we couldn’t really get our  Tahoe bearings.

But this morning, I woke up to a beautiful, sunny day in a really big house surrounded by pine trees, summer flowers, squirrels, and bear safe garbage bins everywhere (reminds me of a time I was in Tahoe, years ago, with an old boyfriend and my friends Denise and Michelle. We got chased by a bear. We had to climb on top of an RV, and then the bear got on all 4s and rocked the RV. TRUE STORY!). We are only a 10 minute walk from the lake and you can see the lake from our house. It’s breathtaking.

Today, I’m thankful for my Aunt Linda. We’re here because she set it all up: her best friend’s family has owned this house for decades. We get to stay for a week, relax, and enjoy each other. We all have out own room, access to the pool, tennis courts, and private beaches. There are TV’s, games, a canoe (though I haven’t figured out what we’re gonna do with that yet!), and great hikes all over the area.

I hate to say it, but you should be kinda jealous…

(This is hanging in the living room of the house. I’m still not sure how I feel about this. Like, really cool? Or really weird?

 

2 Responses to “Tahoe.”

  1. GEW Says:

    I am, indeed, jealous! But I’m happy for you, too. That sounds AWESOME! Have a great time.

  2. tasha Says:

    Stop in SF or east bay on your way home and I’ll meet you for lunch! Also kelly is back in the USA.


Leave a Reply

