A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

good. great. July 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 7:01 pm

GOOD

Maddie saw her dad today. It’s only the third time in 6 years that she’s seen him. This is good, and I am thankful for her visit.  Brian, her dad, has court ordered indefinite supervised visitation since she was 5.  I finally took Brian to court for full legal and physical custody after he had stolen money from me, then from Maddie, and the final strike was when his fiance of the time called me in the middle of the night, hysterical, because Brian was drunk and had broken every window and glass object in the house. Although Brian was a drunk, hearing that he had turned violent sent me quickly to a lawyer. After hiring a lawyer, I learned that he had 3 DUIs, 8 drunk in publics, and 2 petty thefts. Needless to say, Brain never showed up to court and not only did I get full custody, but the judge also ordered the indefinite supervised visitation.

The thing is, though, that Brian could see Maddie every week if he wanted, though the visitation does have to occur at a specific place. However, since the order took place, he’s only come up twice, and one time I let him see Maddie at his parent’s house while his parents were there. He does call Maddie sporadically and supposedly he’s sober, but, really, 3 times in 6 years? I’m a little shocked.

And Maddie did not want to go today. At all. She was so pissed at me that I made her. The thing is, though, even though Brian has his issues, he did make an attempt to see her. He lives in Southern California, so he had to drive 4 hours to get here. And I honestly think that Maddie should spend time with her father. In my eyes, any relationship with a parent is good. She needs to know that her dad has made an effort. And after the hour long visit, she was happy and was no longer mad at me. They had a nice  visit, and I am happy for that.

GREAT

My dear, beloved, awesome friend Kelly is in town and to top that Tasha came down from San Francisco to see Kelly as well. Kelly has been living in Australia for almost a year and I feel like I haven’t seen her in forever. And she is honestly one of the most fun, funny, happy people I know.

here are the top three things I love about Kelly (there are much more than 3, but I had to narrow it down otherwise I’d be typing forever):

1. Her self-esteem. Kelly is very pretty, but she’s not like a model-thin, tall waify woman. Yet, she has this amazing self-confidence. She KNOWS she’s beautiful, and she’s said many-a-times “I am AMAZING!” And it pays off all the time. I cannot tell you how many times we have walked into a bar–a bar with all these beautiful, waify women–and every, I’m serious, every man has gravitated toward her. Amazing. She could attract and probably marry Prince Harry. Or Brad Pitt. Or any other hot and gorgeous man.

2. Her desire for adventure. In the past five years, Kelly has lived in Ireland, England (where I visited her), Seattle, and now Melbourne, Australia. She thrives on living out of the country, and she does it all by herself (except, now actually, she’s living in Australia with her boyfriend). She’ll got to dinner, the movies, a bar by herself and she’ll make tons of friends along the way. When I was with her in England, I was hopeless. Hopeless. Let’s say it again, hopeless. She took to those crazy, wrong way driving like she’d been born driving round-a-bouts. And navigating a country with no seemingly understanding of easy and direct routes. She also is charming and gets her way almost anywhere. I have a habit of looking scared, lost, confused, and well, scared again. Kelly, nope. Not at all. One of my life goals is to be more like Kelly.

3. She is a great friend. She’s the type of friend where I don’t call for a year and then we get together and it’s like no time has passed. On the other hand, if I need to call and talk about my life for several hours, she’ll listen patiently. I know that whenever I see her everything will just be kosher. We’ll be friends forever regardless of how long it’s been since we’ve last seen each other.

We’re leaving in about 20 minutes and I’ve got to get ready. Oh, one more thing to love about Kelly…she wears 4 inch heels everywhere. And she just said, “I don’t care if everyone downtown thinks I’m over-dressed [ummmm….she’s wearing Minola Blahniks with a super fancy purple dress]. Fuck them. I have a fabulous life.”

LOVE IT! I am sooooo thankful for Kelly.

(Ya, we started the night off by drinking Prosecco out of my hideous champagne flutes. Seriously, I must get mature, adult, sophisticated flutes soon).

(Kelly and Tasha at dinner)

(Kelly at the bar with her really strong drink–that she drank really fast!)

(A GREAT night!)

 

2 Responses to “good. great.”

  1. tasha Says:

    Will you send me those pics of me and kelly. Or post on facebook. Would love to have them.

  2. Kelly Says:

    *Blushing* You’re too much! xxxxx


Leave a Reply

