A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

farmer’s market July 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 9:59 pm

This morning Maddie came down the stairs with a huge grin on her face and said, “Mom, look what I’ve taught Luke to do.” I was greatly anticipating several possible things learned: color recognition, a new word (or words!), the self-assembling of a clothing item.

But, no, none of these things were what my brilliant daughter taught her impressionable, totally-in-love-with-his-older-sister brother. Rather, she put Luke in front of her and said, with great authority, “Bow down Luke.”

And he did. Every time she says it, he bows as far down as he can go. Maddie is so proud of this trick.

So even though Maddie did not teach Luke a cool math problem or a Spanish word, at least I know they’re having fun together. I’m pretty thankful for that.

We also finally made it to out town’s Farmer’s Market this evening, the first time since last summer.

Where Maddie, Luke, and I walked though all the crowds with my mom, Christine, and Derek:

Ate delicious food:

Bought fresh fruit and veggies:

Enjoyed Luke clinging to me with fear when I introduced him to the 6 foot bear mascot, “Downtown Brown” (I know, a little too schadenfreude of me, huh?):

All in all, it was a great night. I love that I can walk from my house to Downtown, run into old friends, walk among the young and old, feel the town’s vibrancy all around me, and pick up dinner and fresh and local produce all in one evening. I can’t believe I haven’t been in a year. That’s really a bit sad and pathetic. But I’m really thankful we went tonight, and I can guarantee that we’ll be going much more often this summer.

Oh, and Luke bowed down to Maddie–even in his stroller–about 5 times this evening. I think this may have to end soon. Somehow I think I will not receive mother-of-the-year for this trick.

 

Leave a Reply

