A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

happy toilet July 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 7:09 pm

This morning our toilet broke: it wouldn’t flush. I called a local plumbing service, bummed because it seems anytime a plumber is needed, a lot of money is also needed. I mean, just to come out and diagnose the problem cost $66.  And even though my landlord pays for all these types of repairs, I still don’t want her to pay a lot of money. Plus, just like car repairmen, because I don’t know anything about how a toilet works, I assumed he’d just make a bunch of stuff up and probably over-charge. Now I’m not one to distrust humanity, but come on, plumbers (and car repairmen) have this reputation. And I always fall for it.

The plumber came. He looked at the toilet. I looked at him. I silently calculated the hundreds of dollars this may cost. Perhaps even a whole new toilet would be needed.

He looked at me and said, very seriously, “Your handle broke. I can fix it, but it’s going to cost $70. OR you can pick one up at the hardware store for about $5 and do it yourself.”

What??? He actually helped me out. He didn’t overcharge like I assumed he would, and he went through every step to fixing the problem clearly. Not only that, but he was super nice, and he cleaned out my shower drain as well without charging me anything.

I went to the hardware store, bought the $5 handle, and assembled it to the toilet with total ease and confidence. I am so proud of myself, it’s ridiculous.

I’m thankful for our plumber, Ricky. he was so cool and helpful, and he totally restored my confidence in humanity! I’m serious.

 

One Response to “happy toilet”

  1. GEW Says:

    Huzzah for Ricky the Plumber! Huzzah for humanity! Huzzah for your toilet fixing skills!

    I love this post. 🙂


Leave a Reply

