A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

birthday beach fun July 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 9:14 pm

The kids and I made it to the beach today to join some friends and celebrate my good friend Jason’s birthday.

First, I’m thankful the sun broke through the clouds to warm us all up.

Second, I’m sooooo thankful that we saw a school of dolphins (are a group of dolphins called a school? I’m not sure about that). Just about 15 feet past the shoreline were beautiful dolphins leaping out of the water. It was breathtaking. So breathtaking, in fact, that I didn’t even grab my camera. I just stared in awe. There’s not much I can think of more inspiring than seeing dolphins in the water. Stunning.

Third, I’m thankful for my friend Jason. We went to grad school together and have been friends since. He’s also been my neighbor/semi-roommate for the past few months. I adore Jason. He’s quirky, funny, sensitive, awkward in a really sincere and endearing way, full of love for life and the world, and one of the most intelligent people I know. I mean it, he’s so smart and such a great writer that I seethe with envy. Even his simple and quick emails are deep and beautifully written. If I didn’t love him so much, I’d seriously hate him. So happy birthday Jason. You make all our lives better and more fun.

Fourth, I’m thankful that Luke can get so super dirty and sandy and sticky and covered with dog hair and NOT CARE AT ALL. It’s actually quite amazing.

 

Leave a Reply

