A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

rainy day activities August 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 6:46 pm

It rained all day today. Not a heavy rain, per say, but more like a constant heavy drizzle. This got me thinking: we’ve been here for 3 days already, it’s August, it’s the height of summer.

When does the sun ever shine? Does it ever warm up here?

I mean, I love the Oregon coast. I have since the day I first came here. But could I live here? Nope, I don’t think so. I used to have these great fantasies and longings for living on the coast of the Pacific Northwest (fantasies that strangely resembled the Folgers coffee commercials). And though I have found the Seattle, Washington side much sunnier in the summer (even the little islands off the coast of Washington), I’m still a little inclined to think that my fantasy should stay just as it is–tucked away neatly in my brain.

But today, we woke up to rain and we’re going to bed to rain. What to do, I thought? Well, there we’re some things I already had planned, so we did them anyway.

Like cross the Astoria-Megler bridge to Washington. Which I’ve been dying to do since I got here. It’s the longest continuous truss bridge in North America (a truss bridge is the oldest type of modern bridge in America. And it all has to do with the engineering, which is totally boring to me. But basically, it’s the kind of bridges seen with tops on them…kind of like the ones in the Bridges of Madison County book. Though I could be mistaken about that.). The bridge is 4.1 miles long and connects Oregon to Washington.

So we went over it:

(That’s the sign that announces us entering the state of Washington)

To be honest, once you get to the other side of the bridge, in Washington, there’s not much to do unless you’re willing to drive for a while, and I wasn’t. So we just stopped off at a quick rest stop and took a picture of the dreary bay.

Then back over the bridge we went (Best thing yet: It’s free! Take that San Francisco!). I didn’t care if it was raining, I really wanted to do the riverwalk, so the kids and I went. A little damp weather wasn’t going to deter us (and the promise of hot chocolate for both kids wasn’t going to deter them either!):

After completing the riverwalk, there was one more thing I wanted to do–see the Astoria column. The thing that is killing me is that yesterday when we hiked up to the Cathedral Tree, there was a sign–carved in wood–that said “Column –>”. So we hiked in that direction for about a mile, but I had no idea what the column was and even though we were on a clear path, I started to get really creeped out (Deliverance, I tell you, kept popping into my mind), so we turned and headed back. Well, after figuring out what the column is today and then visiting it, I realized we were only about 1/4 mile away from it yesterday!!!! Argh….

Anyway, the Astoria column:

There are like 170 stairs to climb to get to the top:

And after walking up about 6 steps with Luke on my hip, I said, “No way.” I have a fear of heights and I’m claustrophobic, so there was no way I was doing this. Maddie went up for me.

She took beautiful pictures (including the one of the bridge used earlier):

And was pretty pleased with herself for going up without me. I was pretty damn proud of her too.

But what even from the bottom of the column, the view was still beautiful:

Then we headed home to change and to do what the kids wanted to do: go to the Astoria Aquatics Center (indoors, of course):

But not before we saw a mama deer and her two babies eating on our front lawn!

The pool. I went down that big slide with Luke about 10 times. He LOVED it. And even though I hate public pools, I have to admit, that slide was a lot of fun.

Finally,  after drying off, at Maddie’s request, we went to the Oregon film museum, which is basically just a museum to the movie The Goonies (even though Kindergarten Cop, Free Willy, The Ring, and Into the Wild, to name just a few, were filmed here as well).

(Actually from the Movie The Goonies: where they sprung that guy from jail)

(You can take your mug shot just like in the movies The Goonies)

(One of the original Goonies scripts)

Besides the fact that I’m totally Goonied-out, we did have another fun day despite the rain. I’m thankful that Oregon (and other places I’ve been in Oregon attest to this as well) is totally set up for their rainy lifestyle by having swimming centers indoors, and lots of outdoor seating under overhangs. I’m thankful that we got out and did a bunch of stuff. I’m really thankful that Luke and Maddie had so much fun going down that huge slide (literally Luke was laughing hysterically as we flew down–sooooo fast!)!

Just thankful in general for another great day.

 

One Response to “rainy day activities”

  1. christine Says:

    so it ended up being a pool, you were right :] and the jail pic is AWESOME!!!! :] i miss you guys already….sigh…derek just left me…. :[ i need a hug. -hug-


Leave a Reply

