A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

Friends like family. August 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 8:54 pm

I’m thankful for my good friend Kirby whom I saw this morning when we met for coffee and breakfast. I know this is starting to sound redundant, but Kirby is such an amazing friend of mine, and I’m so glad we had a chance to catch up.

I met Kirby, and his significant other Sonci at the time, about well…hmmm…I guess about 6 or 7 years ago. I’ll never forget briefly meeting them as I ran into my friend Kelly’s apartment to pick up something (maybe a book? a movie?) and then about a week later I was in the grocery store and this guy, Kirby, remembers me from that one minute I ran into Kelly’s apartment. From then on, we were friends. He taught Maddie how to swim and taught her how to imitate his Australian accent.

I can’t even express how much I like Kirby. He’s strong willed and minded, super intelligent, humble, and really, really deep. Like there’s something in his soul that the rest of us don’t have–a sensibility or a knowledge or some sort of deep understanding of the inner-workings of the world. I don’t know what it is; I can’t place my finger on it, but he’s unique and awesome and inspiring. And of course, catching up for only a few hours was NOT enough. He was leaving in a day to go back to Australia for a bit and then perhaps travel through India for awhile longer. He did say he would come back stateside and for that I’m eternally grateful, though wherever he ends up, I’ll go and visit.

I’m thankful for Powells books. I LOVE Powell’s books. I’ve been there 3 times now, and I could live there. I honestly think I could live there. Forever. But the funny things was that after I left Kirby and programmed Powells’ address into my phone’s GPS, and the  got going, some of the streets were under construction, so I had to pull over and reneter my information. And then it happened again. The third time I pulled over I was so irritated, I thought I might explode. So I got out of my car to look at the cross streets and what-do-you-know but I’ve pulled right in front of Powells–and got great parking too. needless to say, I was both amazed and thankful for my good fortune.

(This is honestly where I parked. Amazing!)

So we roamed around Powells for about an hour before we had to leave to Eugene. We all got books. I bought Powell souvenirs. I actually asked for a job application and took it with me (hey, you never know in this job market, and I don’t think I’d even be over-qualified).

I’m thankful for my best friend Katy and her family. We finally made it back to Eugene and got to hang out with Katy and her mom and dad. Katy and I, like I said before, are besties and I LOVE her mom and dad too. I want them to adopt me or something. They are just all so thoughtful and funny and interesting and we could talk for months, I’m sure, if we lived closer.

And the kids had the BEST time running around Katy’s parent’s yard. It is so kids friendly:

And can I just admit that I am in awe of Katy’s mom’s garden:

(This is one kick-ass blackberry bush!)

Hanging out with Katy and her family is like coming home to me. It’s just that feeling that’s hard to describe, but when I leave them, I feel homesick. Ahhh….I hate all the distance between us, though I am thankful for the time we did have to spend together.

 

Leave a Reply

