A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

girl scout badge August 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 10:01 pm

After waking up, meeting Christine for breakfast with the kids, packing up my car, driving home, going to Target to get Maddie school supplies on the way home (and at the tail end of our 4 hour drive), unpacking my car, getting quickly back in the car to take Maddie to a hair-cut appointment, coming back home, unpacking, putting everything away, and then cleaning the house, I am officially home and done with vacation.

I don’t know how happy or thankful I am about this. I had a great time in Oregon, and there’s so much I didn’t get to do: eat at one of Portland’s famous street car restaurants, go to the Gorge, hike some trails in Washington Park, and *sigh* there’s more. I was reminded how much I like that area and I realized how many of my good, great, amazing friends have migrated to the Pacific Northwest and hence, away from me. Being home even for just a few hours is making me feel kind of lonely.

But I guess in a way, I am happy to–kind of–be home. It’s nice to be in my own place. My own bed. My own bathroom. It’s nice to know that I can stop spending money like crazy (seriously this has been one expensive vacation. I’m trying not to think about it cause it’s killing me!) . It’s also nice to be back in my car–my lovely Subaru–because rentals suck. And there are two things I love about my car specifically: the compass and the temperature gauge. I can’t tell you how many times the directions would say something like “go south on 34th street.” How the hell am I supposed to know which way is south??? Without my car to tell me this, I was pretty lost. Next time it may be wise to invest in a compass like Maddie suggested. I also missed not knowing the outside temperature. Though I can tell you it was constantly: cold, overcast, and dreary. I think the sun came out twice for a few hours during our trip. I guess I really don’t need a temperature reading to tell me why the Pacific Northwest is so green and beautiful.

But most of all I’m thankful that we went and did all we did. I’m actually really proud of myself. I feel like I deserve a girl scout badge of honor…for being a kick-ass and capable mom. It is not easy trekking two kids all around, making sure they’re fed, clothed, safe, and having fun. I mean, OK, it’s not like I was dealing with hardships like the pioneer days, but still….I did it. I navigated, drove, sang in the car, planned cool events and hikes, and got us all around on time and safely. Whew….And I’m also super thankful for Maddie who is my savior in the car, dealing with Luke while I drive.

Overall, yes. Please send me my vacationing badge. I think I earned it.

 

2 Responses to “girl scout badge”

  1. GEW Says:

    I’ll start crafting that badge ASAP b/c you definitely earned it! A a mom and a former girl scout, I can make it official. 🙂

  2. GEW Says:

    That’s supposed to say “AS a mom . . . ”

    I’m tired.


Leave a Reply

