A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

community college meeting… August 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 5:37 pm

…otherwise known as the death of summer vacation.

Today, yes, the end of summer for me, signified with a community college faculty meeting from 12-3p.m. Oh, how I was reminded of the work I have to do this weekend: plan my class, write a syllabus, get all my notes together, get all my stuff printed and ready to be copied for the entire semester (I do everything ahead of time; it’s the only way I can handle such a large class load), and then actually teach on Tuesday. Oh my, I have A LOT to do.

Work….I’m not ready.

But I’m thankful that the meeting wasn’t too terrible. In fact, it went by quicker than it usually seems to be. Plus, it was nice to see some colleagues I haven’t seen all summer.

And about half way through the meeting, I got this odd feeling….like a tingling of excitement. From Tuesday until September 20th, I’m only teaching 2 classes, Tuesdays and Thursdays from 12:30-4:30. That is a really mellow and totally manageable schedule. I actually felt excitement at having to stand in front of a class and encourage, enlighten, and inspire students to care about writing and become better writers. So, while I’m not really ready to give up my awesome long and luxurious summer days with my kids, I guess I’m thankful that I get to ease back into teaching by starting with such a mellow load. It’s like dipping your toes into the water and then slowly submerging yourself.

Both my kids are also gone: Luke with his father and Maddie decided to spend the night with my sister. It’s so nice to sit in a quiet house, and with all the work I have to do this weekend, I really need this time to myself.

But, I haven’t had a night to myself in so long and I feel like I’ve had kids hanging on me for almost 2 weeks now without even a five-minute break….I’m ditching the work. I called a friend and we’re going out for a drink. I work better under pressure anyway (or so I keep telling myself).

I’m pretty thankful for a grown-up night out. Oh yes, I am.

 

One Response to “community college meeting…”

  1. GEW Says:

    Good for you! Will you be ready for another grown up night on Tuesday? I think I’m a go . . .


Leave a Reply

