A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

Jill time! August 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 10:52 pm

You know how some people can’t wait for 5 p.m., so they can have their first beer or glass of wine. You know they have  that feeling as the clock hits 4:58 of almost wanting to sprint to the fridge, but waiting…waiting…waiting patiently until the clock hits 5, and then, ah…instant relief.

Well, I’m not one of those people. I don’t crave a beer or glass of wine at 5, but today, I experienced that feeling waiting for my friend Jill to arrive at my house.

Which took forever because she got a late start and then hit loads of traffic. And all the while I was just waiting…waiting…and waiting.

Because I knew as soon as she arrived I’d breathe a sigh of relief, glad to have one of my best friends in town to solely spend time with me, a catching up occurrence that has become less and less frequent as our lives become increasingly busy.

So when she finally arrived, it was like that sip of first wine. Relief and then happiness. My sister and her kids came over and we BBQ’ed early and watched the kids run like crazy around the backyard and through the house.

(For dessert, my sister made rice kristpy treats. Delish.)

(Baily going in for the sneak attack on Luke’s dessert)

But after my sister and her kids left, Jill and I got to finally sit down and catch up without being overheard by big ears (unless you count Luke, but he doesn’t understand yet). We talked for hours about life, friends, parents, childhood, old memories (I moved to the town I live in now 15 years ago with Jill and two other friends), and then some.

The best part is that I get to do this all over again tomorrow. Can’t wait.

I’m super thankful Jill made it to town safely, battling traffic and power outages, so we could have some fun!

(The black smudge on Jill’s chin? NOT JILL!!! My camera needs to get some work done.)

 

Leave a Reply

