A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

a happy saturday September 4, 2010

Filed under: books and reading,family fun,friends — courtsbrogno @ 8:06 pm

There’s so much to be thankful for today.

First, thankful I got my butt to yoga because my body so badly needed it this morning. But more importantly, after yoga, I went to the yoga studio’s cafe and had the best breakfast: ambrosia porridge topped with fresh fruit and almond milk and a cup of yerba mate. This was a new experience for me as I don’t normally like yerba mate nor had I ever had ambrosia porridge, but it was so GOOD. And my body felt amazing all day.

Second, thankful for the book Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Superathletes, and the Greatest Race the World has Ever Seen by Christopher McDougall.

A friend recommended this book, so I bought it, and when I picked it up to read yesterday, I couldn’t put it down. I finished it this morning. Excellent, excellent, excellent! I would recommend this to everyone I know, it was that good! While, yes, it is about running, and more specifically about ultra runners, it has a great deeper meaning about loving what you do in life and how we, the human race, were born to run. Now, this book hasn’t exactly made me want to tie on my running shoes quite yet, but it did make me want to beam love (think Care Bear love power) into everything I do, everyone I know. I haven’t read a book that powerful in quite awhile.

Finally, thankful that my best friend Michelle, her husband Cain, her daughter Olivia, and Michelle’s sister Niki are all in town visiting for the Labor Day weekend. We all met up at the beach with my sister and Cate (and my parents even stopped by for a bit!) this afternoon and everyone had a great time, especially all the kids.

(Olivia, Cate, and Maddie)

(How cute is Cate?)

(And how cute is Olivia)

(Luke. Totally outnumbered by all the girls.)

(Michelle playing with Olivia and Luke)

(Cain with Olivia and Luke)

The weather was beautiful, the conversation was great, and the growing bonds between all our kids is remarkable. I’m not sure how much Luke liked getting his hair brushed by the girls, but I certainly enjoyed watching it happen.

 

Leave a Reply

