A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

I’ve got an addiction… September 14, 2010

Filed under: books and reading — courtsbrogno @ 5:51 pm

…and it’s called Amazon.

As in the website, not the South American jungle. But it’s just as deadly. It seems that whenever I hear someone talking about a book, I have to order it on Amazon. And then 5 other books that look interesting as well.

This is what came today:

This is bad. My summer of reading is coming to a close. Where will I find the time to read? I mean, I have work to do. Or I will, very soon. And it’ll just be torture to look at all these tempting books and NOT have the time to read them.

I realize, however, that I have read an almost ridiculous amount of books this summer. I know for sure because my mom keeps a reading journal where she records the books she’s read, the dates when she’s finished them, and then if she liked the book or not. I found this out this summer and decided that I would employ this method as well. I figured it would help me remember what I like and when I read a book (instead of my usual: Ya, it was good. I think I read it last year. No the year before. Wait, maybe I didn’t read that.).

Behold my summer reading list (I didn’t date. I just compiled it all under summer):

Tobias Wolff, This Boy’s Life

Sara Gruen, Water for Elephants

Mary Gordon, Spending

Garth Stein, The Art of Racing in the Rain

Kate Walbert, A Short History of Women

Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre

Jessica Maxwell, Roll Around Heaven

James Joyce, The Dubliners

Sebastian Faulks, A Week in December

Lionel Shriver, The Post-Birthday World

Bill Bryson, The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid

Anita Diamant, The Red Tent

Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

Daisy Hay, Young Romantics

Jhumpu Lahiri, The Interpreter of Maladies

John Kennedy Toole, A Confederacy of Dunces

Donald Miller, Blue Like Jazz

Elizabeth Gilbert, Committed

Kazuo Ishiguro, The Remains of the Day

Christopher McDougall, Born to Run

Firan Desai, The Inheritance of Loss

Stieg Larsson, The Girl with the Dragoon Tattoo

Stieg Larsson, The Girl who Played with Fire

That’s a grand total of 23 books! I can’t remember the last time I read so much. But the thing is, I had this nightly routine where I put Luke to bed, crawled in next to him, and read every night until around 11p.m. I seriously didn’t watch any T.V. And I didn’t have anything else to do this summer. In fact, this reading list kind of proves why I didn’t have anything else to do this summer. And clearly why I’m not dating.

But the thing is I liked almost all these books (my two least favorites: The Red Tent and The Art of Racing in the Rain [sorry Jen]). And if I had to give just a few awards, I’d say:

Winner of best language with the added bonus of being totally depressing yet very real: The Interpreter of Maladies

Winner of the most interesting for non-fiction: Born to Run

Winner of the best sex scenes: Spending

Winner of totally addicting and yet totally trashy: Stieg Larrson’s trilogy (of which I’m going to get the third and final installment tonight. Even though I shouldn’t. But I can’t stop. I really, really can’t.)

Anyway, I’ve got to lay off amazon for a while and make it my goal to finish all these books by next summer. I also have to stop wandering around aimlessly in bookstores. But in the long run, I’m pretty thankful with how I spent my summer. This is, I’m sure, a much better addiction than, say, heroin. Though perhaps not any less expensive.

 

4 Responses to “I’ve got an addiction…”

  1. GEW Says:

    Oh, yes. I think it’s less expensive that heroin! What a great list! Mine is very short. And that is a *beautiful* stack of books you have there! I love books. I love my Kindle, but I just love books. I notice you have The Hunger Games. After I finish The Passage, I plans to read The Hunger Games. Or at least sometime soon. Maybe we can get together to talk about some of our reading? I mean this really fun reading that is not the same as our official reading group reading.

  2. GEW Says:

    Just a follow up to say that I keep thinking about your book stack and how beautiful it is and how I just LOVE to fondle and handle large stacks of books. I’m also very curious to know what else is in that stack other than The Hunger Games. I think you should e-mail me and let me know. 🙂

  3. Jen M Says:

    OK I am also a book freak that gets way too excited over a stack of new books. And I am impressed with your reading list this summer; it reminds me of summers past. But how can you not enjoy The Red Tent? I read it again this summer and enjoyed it even more while pregnant. And although Stieg Larrson’s book may not be literary genius, he knows how to make some damn fine characters and creates some exciting plots. Have you seen the Swedish movies yet? Pretty good stuff too. Good luck getting some reading in!

  4. courtsbrogno Says:

    GEW..I’m sending you an email later today! Jen…you’re right about Stieg Larsson’s characters and plots–they are quite good. And no, not literary genius, but hey, I read all three books in less than a week! Now, I’ll have to check out the movies. But sorry, The Red Tent didn’t do it for me. But I could always read it again next summer and see if my impression changes!


Leave a Reply

