A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

soccer saturdays September 18, 2010

Filed under: kids — courtsbrogno @ 4:48 pm

It’s begun: soccer Saturdays. Until a week before Thanksgiving, my Saturdays consist of watching Maddie’s soccer games.

It’s one of the best parts of being a parent and something I always look forward to.

Today was Maddie’s first game, and she killed it! She’s been playing since she was 5, and I have to admit, she’s never been that good. She’s always been, well, scared of the ball. In all the years she’s played, she’s only made one goal and it was basically an accident. But throughout all her years, regardless of talent, she’s never complained about the practices, the physical exertion during the games, nor the fact that she’s not the best player. And that, I believe, counts more than anything else. She’s a great team player, she’s supportive, and she’s enthusiastic.

But today…today…well, she kicked some serious ass. It’s not like she transformed overnight into a star player, but she had such confidence, and she had the ball a good portion of the time, and she made several great passes, and didn’t seem afraid of the ball at all. I looked at her and thought, “who is this kid???” To say I was proud would be an understatement. And when I said something about how great she was, how proud I was, she shrugged and said, “Did you see Erin? She really played great.”

I could just die from happiness. I love Maddie’s compassion and commitment to her team. I love soccer Saturdays and being able to see my girl perform!

(Maddie’s somewhere in the middle of this game!)

(Luke on the sidelines cheering for his big sister)

(Maddie listening to her coach’s instructions)

I’m so thankful to be back in the soccer world again. Even more important, I’m thankful that I get to be Maddie’s super proud mama.

 

Leave a Reply

