A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

water me down September 27, 2010

Filed under: self-discovery — courtsbrogno @ 7:24 pm

I don’t like water. Never have. Nor do I really like soda. I do like coffee (usually even decaf).

What this means is that I normally only drink coffee and maybe some vitamin water or gatorade (ever once in a while) on a daily basis.

I’m amazed (and I’m quite serious about this) that I’m not:

a. constantly dehydrated.

b. suffering from kidney stones.

c. dead.

But today, man, it was 111 degrees, and I had to teach and walk all over campus all day. The students and I melted in the classrooms, which by the way, I guess when our university was built, air conditioning hadn’t been invented. Except that I’m teaching one of my classes in a brand new building! What’s up with that? Just another way to torture us, I’m sure.

Anyway, I was so hot all day, I drank both of these and even filled them up twice:

To my surprise, though perhaps I was suffering from heat stroke, I didn’t mind drinking the water at all. It wasn’t really refreshing, per se. But I didn’t gag from it either.

I could be turning over a new leaf here. I’m going to keep filling up these babies and see what happens.

And for that, I’m thankful.

 

2 Responses to “water me down”

  1. GEW Says:

    I was never a water drinker (I mean none at all) until I drove cross-country to make my move to California (in 1992). I crossed desert areas, and I felt parched, really parched, for the first time in my life. And, since I was travelling, I bought bottled water or drank spring water, which I liked so much better than tap water. Ever since that experience, I have been a water drinker. I don’t drink gallons a day like some friends of mine, but I drink it much more and it is not in my top four preferred beverages. I the filtered water from our fridge. So. Good.

  2. Jen Says:

    omg so dramatic. i’m so glad you didn’t “GAG” over water.


Leave a Reply

