A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

indulgence September 28, 2010

Filed under: adult fun — courtsbrogno @ 8:24 pm

It’s been three years since I last went to a concert. The last concert I attended was when I was 5 months pregnant and I took Maddie and my friend Michelle to see Feist.

Since that concert I’ve seen no live music. None. Nada.

It’s quite sad.

But then today, I read an article about one of my favorite musicians, Stufjan Stevens. Even though I belong to his email subscription list, I haven’t read the emails in years. But the article discussed his upcoming new album and tour.

Tour? What? I mean where have I been?

I haven’t ever seen Sufjan Stevens. Ever. And this is partly because HE NEVER TOURS. Well, he rarely tours. Barely ever.

So, I went to his web page to see where he was going to be playing. Usually most of the dates are in Europe, so I didn’t get my hopes up.

But then I noticed that he was playing in Los Angeles in October.

I stopped and thought for a minute: Interesting, I’m going to be in L.A. in October.

Then I looked at the specific date.

This could not be happening. He’s playing the same weekend I’m in L.A. for a wedding. And randomly the wedding is on a Friday. The concert is Saturday.

This seemed like an omen sent from baby Jesus. I went to buy tickets.

SOLD OUT.

But I was not to be deterred. After a quick internet search, I found tickets. And I bought them.

For A LOT of money. I indulged. I spent more money on two tickets than I ever have in the past. And I don’t even have someone to go with yet.

But no matter. I’m happy. I indulged. I love him. I love his music.

It’ll be worth every penny. I’m so thankful the tickets are being air mailed to me as I type.

For you absolute listening pleasure:

 

One Response to “indulgence”

  1. christine Says:

    an upbeat elliot smith! :] i like. but i still think country is worthy of people’s enjoyment….youre just a hater…


Leave a Reply

