A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

free afternoon October 7, 2010

Filed under: family fun,food — courtsbrogno @ 8:01 pm

The community college gives it students and staff today and tomorrow off. It’s not officially a holiday, and although these days are called ‘flex days,’ it’s really just a reason for students and staff to have some time to relax or catch up.

What this meant for me was that I was done teaching at noon instead of 4:30. What this meant for Luke was that he only had to be at preschool for a few hours. This was exciting for both of us. (Maddie, on the other hand, didn’t have one change to her schedule. Poor her.).

Luke and I got to spend the entire afternoon playing and napping. Oh how I love lying down to have a nap with Luke. I also decided to make a nice dinner since it’s been awhile since the kids have had a real cooked meal from me. I mean, I always cook for them, but lately it’s been really quick dinners–basically nothing too special.

I decided to make eggplant parmesan because I needed to eat all those eggplants and tomatoes I gathered from my garden last week. But as I started to prep the eggplants, I realized that I had a whole chicken in the fridge that needed to be cooked by today as well. Then I looked closer and realized that there were some Italian sausages in my fridge whose expiration date was also today.

So I made and cooked the eggplant, the chicken, and the sausages. It was a flurry of cooking in my kitchen from about 4 to 6:30, and even Luke helped:

(or really just made a mess on the kitchen floor for me to clean)

But the chicken and the eggplant and the sausage all came out great and this may be the first time EVER my kids have had such a variety of dinner choices.

I’m thankful I didn’t have to teach at the community college and for these ‘flex days.’ I’m thankful Luke didn’t have to be in preschool all day. I’m thankful Luke and I had a great afternoon together. But most of all I’m thankful for the amount of cooking I did because now we’ll have left-over dinners for at least four or five days!

 

One Response to “free afternoon”

  1. Denise Says:

    Remember those fantastic Courtney dinners at the Wavertree house???

    Jen, Michelle, Katy, Grace, Sofia and whoever else wanted to join that week!! I so miss those times…..


Leave a Reply

