A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

friends, a birthday, and one absolute beautiful GOAL October 16, 2010

Filed under: family fun,friends — courtsbrogno @ 10:21 pm

The best news of the week: Maddie scored her first goal today (well, a few years ago the ball bounced off her arm and went into the goal. Total accident. She counts it as a goal. No one else does. Oh, and she’s been playing every soccer since she was 5. Just saying: this was a HUGE deal).

It was a beautiful goal. She had control of the ball, ran quickly down the field, no one was in front of her except the goalie, and from about 20 feet away from the goal, she kicked…

(I held my breath. I could barely stand to watch.)

…and she SCORED!!!! I so wished that we had one of those awesome Mexican football announcers to scream, “GGGOOOOAAAALLLLLL.” I mean, I’m not trying to brag, but it was just that beautiful.

And she was so stunned at first, like she couldn’t believe she had made it. And I was jumping up and down and screaming.

And I actually cried. I really did. I was just so proud and excited.

They still lost the game (5-3), but they were also short a person and the other team, I swear, looked about 16.

Still, Maddie couldn’t be happier. And I couldn’t be prouder. I am so, so, so thankful for my girl and her soccer prowess today.

What made the soccer game even better was that Carolyn came and watched, though she missed the goal by about 3 minutes. Still, Maddie and I were so thankful to have her come and show her support. And it was so nice to have someone to share the game’s excitement with.

After the soccer game, we got Luke and off we headed to my best friend Denise’s house to celebrate her daughter’s 4th birthday. I love being at Denise’s house for several reasons, but mostly because she’s a chill mom with 5 kids and so all the kids, including my own, can run around her house and be….well, crazy kids. There are toys and games and if Luke spills water (which he did) or eats some Playdoh (which he did) or tackles another little boy (which he did), or has a total tantrum because the presents weren’t for him (which he did),  Denise and her husband don’t mind! And Maddie loves it because she and the older kids can sit around and talk and play and have their own fun. And I get to talk to Denise , her husband, and her lovely mom and dad and just have adult conversation. Total bliss for everyone in my family.

But in the midst of all this, we really celebrated Natalie, whom I can’t believe is 4 already and is really such a sweet girl.

I’m so thankful for the great time we had at Denise’s. I’m so thankful her and I have kept such a strong friendship, though I don’t know why we wouldn’t. Except for one crazy, drunk fight in Lake Tahoe about 13 or 14 years ago (Now there’s a story!!!), I don’t think we’ve ever fought or even disagreed.

Yeah, I had plans to be home around 5 so I could get some work done. But, you just can’t stop a good thing. And so when I left at 7:15 and my kids were crying because they didn’t want to leave, well, the only regret I have is that I wish I would have brought all our pajamas so we could have stayed the night!

 

 

 

 

One Response to “friends, a birthday, and one absolute beautiful GOAL”

  1. Denise Says:

    It was soooo good to see you too!!! Jailyn has already made me Promise, that they can do that sleepover we keep telling them will happen one of these years. I say one weekend me and Jai come down for a sleepover, yeah thats right I mean both of us…who says we are too old for a sleepover. And that Tahoe story….to funny!! I was really mad at your for some reason….I do remember that.


Leave a Reply

