A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

geek out October 19, 2010

Filed under: kind words — courtsbrogno @ 8:53 pm

As I sat in my office today, at the community college, a colleague came in and we started chatting. I don’t know him very well, though I do like him. During our conversation he told me that he used my last letter from the editor (from the women’s bi-monthly magazine I volunteer to manage and edit) in class to show how punctuation can be used stylistically.

“You have great punctuation,” he said.

While I don’t know if you can actually have great  punctuation like you can have great boobs,  since I don’t have great boobs (sigh), I’ll take the great punctuation!

And let’s be honest, I seriously geek out on grammar and especially punctuation, so this was by far one of the best compliments I have ever received.

I was so honored, I could barely mutter out a simple “thank you.” Because I was thankful–so, so thankful.

Later, I was talking to my good friend and colleague Erin, when I wondered at loud, “Hey, Erin. Do you know of any good grammar conferences or conventions? I mean, I know there has to be some. We should go.”

Because the thing is, Erin and I talk about grammar stuff–excitedly–all the time. So I thought she would be completely down to going with me.

But instead, she looked at me and said, “I want to go to Comic-con.”

Hmmm….I guess this proves that we’re both kind of nerds, but clearly she is more cool. Way more cool.

 

2 Responses to “geek out”

  1. Denise Says:

    Is he cute??? LOL.

  2. GEW Says:

    I’ll have to check out your letter! And for the record, I think you’ve got GREAT boobs. But, then again, I’m a 34 nearly A, so I might not be the best judge.


Leave a Reply

