A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

Driving October 21, 2010

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 11:04 pm

Ugh. Today was a busy day. Between getting the kids to school and working from 10-4, I had to pack and get everyone fed, bathed, and on the road by 6.
We’re heading to the OC and LA for a long weekend to attend a wedding, see a concert, and visit with friends and family.
But as I ran around all day, all I could think about was the driving, the rushing from place to place all weekend, and the huge amount of work I need to get done that I know I won’t finish AT ALL since we’ll be so busy this weekend.
So as I finally got on the freeway headed south around 6pm, I was in a bad mood and tense and not looking forward to a this long weekend.
But then, about an hour into my drive, I noticed how relaxed my body was and how calm my mind had become. All my worries kind of slipped away. I even shrugged off my work for the weekend, thinking “it’ll get done.”

 

(Even with all these lanes, sometimes driving can be so meditating.)

 

Now, lying in bed at my best friend’s Jill’s house, I’m so happy to be here. And I’m relaxed.

I’m thankful we arrived safely. I’m thankful of all we get to do this weekend. I’m thankful we get to spend time with friends and family.

But most of all I’m thankful for my attitude change.

 

Leave a Reply

