A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

Loving my different family October 22, 2010

Filed under: family fun,friends — courtsbrogno @ 10:48 pm

Loving my friend and soul sister jill whom I spent the day with.

Loving maddie’s dad’s family whom I spent the evening with.

Thankful for all the different types of family I have.

More to come when I’m hooked up to my computer.

UPDATED:

Now that I’m on a computer, let me continue to explain…

I loved waking up and spending the day with my friend and, I swear, soul sister Jill. We are so alike in so many ways, I’m surprised we didn’t grow up together. And whether we we’re just hanging around the house talking, or running after Luke, or taking some time to drive down to Dana Point so we could walk around, or even driving through Trabuco Canyon just to look at the houses in the woods (or as close to woods as you can get in Orange County), I had the BEST day with her.

Later in the day, however, Jill and I parted ways: she and her husband accompanied their son to his homecoming football game, and Luke, Maddie, and I went to her uncle’s wedding.

Which I thought would be weird for a number of reasons:

1. Maddie’s father was going to be there and I haven’t seen in about 5 years.

2. Brian, Maddie’s dad, was going to be there with his entire family: aunts and uncles and grandparents I haven’t seen since Maddie was a few months old and Brian’s sister got married.

3. Of all Brian’s family, his youngest brother Tyler–the one who was getting married–is the sibling I know the least.

I thought several times about not going, but Maddie’s grandparents, who are beyond wonderful to my family, were in town from Italy, and since they moved there in July we haven’t–obviously– at all, and since they will probably be in Italy for a few years, this may be the last chance we get to see them until they return.

I had dropped Maddie off in the morning to spend the entire day with her grandparents, and Luke and I met them all at the reception (I opted NOT to take Luke to the actual wedding ceremony since he was already cranky and I didn’t feel the need to bring anymore attention to myself by having to chase Luke down the aisle in the middle of vows).

So, nerves and all, Luke and I walked in.

And were met with complete warmth and love and acceptance. All of Brian’s siblings were wonderful, and it was amazing to see her grandparents (because truly, I love them so much and they have always been amazing), and all the aunts and uncles and grandparents hugged me and kissed me and thanked me for coming and allowing them to be a part of our lives and told me they loved me and complimented me on Maddie. And then Brian and I actually had a nice conversation and he started crying and thanked me for doing such a good job with Maddie and, well…

….it was pretty amazing. I’ve always thought Brian’s family was wonderful, but this event just made that even more clear. I was overwhelmed and felt such gratitude. While Brian is not going to be taking Maddie for weekends anytime soon, I hold no anger or ill-will toward him. I truly only want him to get healthy and be Maddie’s dad for a very long time. But it was nice to hear him thank me. He’s never really done that before.

And the best part was we had a GREAT time. We ate, we drank, we chatted, and enjoyed being a FAMILY, all of us.

(Amy and Cliff, Maddie’s grandparents, married 36 years)

(Alison [Maddie’s aunt] and Dan, married 11 years and expecting their first baby any day now)

(Katy and Devon [Maddie’s uncle] married for 5 years)

(Tyler [Maddie’s uncle] and Kiki married 1 day)

(Brian [Maddie’s dad] and his girlfriend)

And we danced…

(Look at that girl dance!)

And to Maddie’s utter horror, I danced all night as well. And when Luke got tired, I didn’t let that slow me down. I threw on my carrier and away we went, dancing together, Luke and I, with Maddie as far away as she could get.

 

Oh, how I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE how non-traditional my family is. And how wonderful. And how kind and loving. And especially how much I can learn from them.

 

One Response to “Loving my different family”

  1. Denise Says:

    That is so great. I can’t wait to talk to you and I especially hope that Maddie got a chance to spend time with her Dad with out all the restrictions and anxiety and truly show him her beautiful personality. Love you guys.


Leave a Reply

