A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

great-grandparent love November 1, 2010

Filed under: kind words — courtsbrogno @ 6:45 pm

Maddie’s great-grandmother on her dad’s side lives in Utah and we rarely see her. She makes do, however, by always sending us a card for every holiday. In each card are long, detailed letters about her life and what’s happening in her neighborhood. Though sometimes they focus on the ailments of people in her neighborhood and church, often they are just charming accounts of what she does to keep herself busy.

They are a real highlight at our house because we rarely receive hand-written cards and because we get a sense of her life and what it’s like to be a widow in your early eighties. from the letters, we can tell she keeps quite busy. And she loves to write. In fact, when I once said to her that I could set her up with an email account, her son (Maddie’s grandfather) shot up and said, “No, no. We really don’t need her writing to us everyday!”

His comment was all in good humor, I assure you, as we’re not down with elder abuse.

Anyway, we did see great grandma Janet at Maddie’s uncle’s wedding a few weeks ago, and so we got a chance to catch up. She is an amazing woman, heroic I’d even say. And she’s been through so much in her life, yet she still is happy and funny and accepting of almost all things (even though Luke is not her blood great-grandson, rather he’s a step great-grandson, she told me that she refuses to see her family as anything other than whole. Instead of calling him a step-anything, she refers to him only as her “bonus” great-grandson).

And today, we received a Halloween card from her with a nice long letter about her life and $20 with a note: “Here’s some cash to spend on Halloween weekend. Maybe you all three can go have a hamburger before you go trick or treating.”

I love great grandma Janet so much and I’m so thankful for her. She doesn’t have a lot of money and she also has so many grandchildren and great-grandchildren that I can barely keep up.  I also rarely return her letters (I know, sooooooo BAD), but she does know I love her. And I love how much she loves my family and how accepting she is. I really wish there were more people in the world like her. Surely we’d be a much better off place than we are right now.

 

 

 

Leave a comment