A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

a magical day November 3, 2010

Filed under: noticing sweetness — courtsbrogno @ 8:53 pm

Okay, the title of this blog is a bit misleading since nothing spectacular happened: I didn’t win the lottery, meet prince charming, or buy a new car.

No, it was just a totally average day.

And yet, something was different, and I don’t know what it was. I was just in a good mood the entire day. No, better than in a good mood. More like a smiley, affectionate, I love everyone good day.

Perhaps it was the warm weather and the blowing Santa Ana winds. Perhaps it was because I gave all four classes at the university midterms today, which meant quiet time for me to catch up on grading while the students took exams, which is kind of ironic: I’m catching up on grading, feeling like I’m getting somewhere, only to receive a HUGE stack of midterms to grade. But today, even that didn’t bother me.

The student who came in with a shit-poor excuse as to why he didn’t finish his homework? I just smiled.

The student on a bike who almost ran me over as he zig-zagged through the crowds? Just smiled.

The student who made loudly sighed throughout the midterm? I smiled and then patted him on the shoulder in sympathy.

Walking around the same, boring campus I’ve been walking around for 12 years? I loved every second of it and actually stopped to look at some beautiful art installation designs set up around the campus. I even waved and said hello to the goddamn construction workers that have made the campus a labyrinth to get around lately.

Standing in a long line at Rite Aid to fill a prescription for Luke? I chatted with the woman behind me and then even let her cut in front of me because she had to get home. I did it all with a smile.

Coming home to a house full of kids (my kids, my sister’s kids, and a friend’s kids that I am babysitting until 9:30) tonight after my longest day at work? Another smile, a few jokes, and I even bought my sister a 12 pack of Sierra Nevada for coming a half hour early this morning so I could have time to make some changes and finalize my midterm.

I was in such a good mood today, I barely recognized myself.

I don’t know what is going on with me, but I am ultra grateful. It’s not like I’m a grumpy person. Far from it, in fact. But I feel like I’m floating today. I really feel like the day was just magical.

If only I could bottle this feeling up and sell it. I’d make millions.

 

One Response to “a magical day”

  1. Denise Says:

    Love this post Court, wouldn’t it be great if everyday were like that. I can’t remember when I had a day like that. Love you and miss you.


Leave a Reply

