A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

ikea me November 12, 2010

Filed under: family fun,travel — courtsbrogno @ 9:07 pm

We are in Northern California for the weekend. We left town around 1p.m and made it here by 4:30. We made good time and are sooooo happy to have a weekend of family, friends, and–oh YES–football!

But before all the weekend fun begins, I’m thankful for a safe car ride and especially for my Aunt Linda who bought the kids a video player for the car yesterday. The kids watching Toy Story 3 instead of listening to me sing in the car–pure bliss for them.

I’m normally one of those people who generally thinks that more is not better and that kids DO NOT need very much to be happy, healthy kids. But I bend the rules on entertainment for the car. Man, it is awesome to have screens on the back of the head rests for movie watching. Who invented this brilliant idea? Cause I’d like to by him or her a drink.

Once we arrived at my mom and dad’s, we hung out, ate dinner, and then I left Luke with my mom and took Maddie to what I consider “adult Disneyland:” IKEA!

Ikea is honestly the greatest place in the world. I could plan out a hundred ways to decorate my house. Alas, I didn’t need anything for my house, so we mostly just walked around and bought a few gifts and some pillows and tupperware.

But Maddie and I picked our favorite rooms and pretended we lived there (and Maddie wasn’t even embarrassed).

God how I love Ikea. I wish I could live there. But for now, I’m thankful for the Ikea date Maddie and I had.

 

2 Responses to “ikea me”

  1. christine Says:

    ode to the swedish ppl for giving us ikea!!! :] i think derek posed in that same office room you picked courntey!!

  2. Denise Says:

    Ahhhh IKEA, love that store…


Leave a Reply

