A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

soccer nights November 17, 2010

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 9:09 pm

Wednesday is my long work day. And today was even longer.

After finishing a long work day, I rushed from school to the soccer fields to watch Maddie’s playoff game. It started at 6:30 and I arrived around 6:40.

I’m super thankful to my sister who got the kids fed, put in warm clothes, and then to the soccer fields a half hour early for check-in, so I could spend my evening  watching Maddie play soccer.

In the cold November weather, Maddie donned a jacket and watched her team play the second quarter (she was out for that quarter) while Luke and I shivered on the side-lines.

 

But soon she was out on the field, playing hard and dedicated.

 

And I spent the night chasing Luke across the field, catching glimpses of Maddie’s game when I could.

Really, the game was fun. Kind of. I was tired and hungry. Luke was over tired and crazy. But we made the best of it and cheered for Maddie and her team.

They lost, and really rather badly, but we had an eventful night, a night different from most of our nights. And I’m thankful for the change in our normal schedule.

And can I also say how thankful I am that soccer season will be over Saturday!

 

Leave a Reply

