A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

quiet November 20, 2010

Filed under: kids — courtsbrogno @ 9:46 pm

My sister’s kids are sleeping. My kids are sleeping. Maddie’s friend whom we babysat tonight has just left.

The house is quiet. I’m so thankful.

My sister’s kids are here for the night so their parents could have a much needed night away. And Maddie’s friend’s parents had a fund raiser to attend. I’m thankful all the adults had an opportunity to have a free night.

But damn! Watching all these kids is exhausting.

Especially because Cate, my sister’s daughter, cried almost the entire night because she missed her mom. And because Luke cried almost the entire night because Cate wouldn’t play with him. And because Maya, Maddie’s friend, was annoyed with all the noise and chaos. And because Braden, my sister’s son, felt a little left out from playing with the big girls, Maddie and Maya. And because Maddie had to help navigate through all these elements and finally lost her cool toward the end.

And me? Well, I just went with the flow and tried to comfort and hold and bathe and feed everyone. And maintain peace.

Goodnight dear kids. I love you all to death, but damn you’re all crazy:

 

 

One Response to “quiet”

  1. MIchelle Says:

    Calgon take me away!


Leave a Reply

