A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

“dissonances of discovery” November 30, 2010

Filed under: work — courtsbrogno @ 9:34 pm

Tonight, from 6-9p.m., I attended the university’s graduate teaching associate’s fall conference.

It was titled: Revising Realities: Identity and “Dissonance of Discovery” in the Composition Classroom.

Sounds exciting, doesn’t it?

Actually, it was.

Besides the clear use of “academia speak to make me feel like I’m supremely more intelligent than everyone beneath me despite the fact that no one in the real world even cares because I’m  really only using a language that perhaps .5% of the population understands and, in fact, I probably just need therapy,” I had a great time. I learned quite a bit about new strategies for teaching comp, I empathized with new instructors trying to figure out how to mesh theory with practical applications, and I got to see and talk to some colleagues that I normally don’t see very often, but always enjoy being around.

I’m quite thankful for this little interlude in my grading and teaching routine. Even though it was still connected to work (i.e. grading and teaching), it was nice to be surrounded by a comp community (i.e. people who understand my job).

Good times, I tell ya, good times.

 

Leave a Reply

