A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

dear God, thank you… December 11, 2010

Filed under: noticing sweetness — courtsbrogno @ 6:42 pm

…for finally answering my prayers and sending to me (and my town) the most amazing coffee shop EVER.

As you’re well aware, God, I have been a coffee-house wanderer for the past 3 years. You’ll remember how for years and years I frequented the same coffee shop, and of course, that’s where I met my ex since he was working there at the time. Suffice to say, in the course of our divorce, he got the coffee shop. Not that this was a written or even verbal request; it was more of an unspoken agreement. Plus, he had said so many awful things about me to his co-workers and other regulars that I was just too ashamed to show my face. And while there are a whole host of new employees who wouldn’t know me from Adam, I have such a negative connection to that old coffee shop that I almost feel like it’s jinxed. So, alas, for years I’ve just been hopping from one coffee shop to another, really never feeling at home.

Until I finally made it to the much talked about new coffee shop downtown, and upon walking in, I realized that you, dear God, have been listening to my prayers and then some.

This new coffee shop is also a used bookstore! There are huge couches and comfy window seats with plush pillows and everything is surrounded by books! God, you must have realized that this is my image of heaven.

The employees are kind, the coffee is great, their sandwiches are excellent, Maddie claimed the blueberry muffin she had was the best ever, and to top it all off, they play amazing music (heard and loved for the first time the band “Horse Feathers”).

The best part of the entire shop is a little station with an old typewriter and paper. Patrons have typed out poetry, thoughts, messages to others, and even complete nonsense. It’s beautiful.

(I’m copying this idea. I’m on the search for an old typewriter and I’m going to set this up in my room; then Maddie, eventually Luke, and I can type out our thoughts and ‘publish’ them on my wall)

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you God. I’m so incredibly thankful to have a coffee shop, one where I feel at home and inspired, back in my life. I did thank the owners and they said they just felt inspired one day, which is why I assume you had a hand in this, God.

Now, onto bigger issues….world peace, the environment, human rights, and perhaps a good man for me!

 

2 Responses to “dear God, thank you…”

  1. GEW Says:

    This is news to me! I have gist of the location from the view out the front window, but I’m not sure of the street. I can’t wait to visit it! Is it majorly crowded? How long has it been open?

  2. christine Says:

    i DEF want to go next time im in town!!!!


Leave a Reply

