A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

kicking ass and taking names December 12, 2010

Filed under: work — courtsbrogno @ 7:06 pm

Well, perhaps I’m not really taking names so much as I’m assigning grades, but still, I’m on a roll.

I have 97 essays and 97 finals to grade. I’ve always thought it a little unfair that grades are due the Tuesday after finals’ week. And while I don’t need to put comments on either the finals or essays and can grade holistically, I still find myself–unlike the more experienced professor–having to write some comments on each essay/final. Even if it’s just a “c” in the margin denoting a lack of citations, without these small notes, I end of reading an entire essay unsure of what I actually read, and I am not about to assign a grade based on such uncertainties.

However, I put my nose to the grindstone all week, grading as material was turned in. I have also graded tirelessly all weekend, and 2 classes grades are already submitted. I feel rather confident that I will the other two classes’ grades submitted by tomorrow night.

(essays graded from today)

I even took a few small breaks today to run to the store, tidy up the house, take my kids to the park and for a picnic, and made dinner. I’ve quit for the evening and am looking forward to an evening free of grading (to be honest, I had to quit. My eyes are starting to hurt and words seem to swim across the page. Not a good sign, I think). I’m extremely grateful I’ve stuck to a strict grading schedule and still have made time for the kids.

But I’m almost done and for all the hard work I’ve been doing, I’ll also feel extremely thankful if I finish one day before the deadline.

 

2 Responses to “kicking ass and taking names”

  1. GEW Says:

    Woohoo! Nice progress! I’ve got to grade research papers tonight, so I feel you . . . But I don’t have a bazillion classes as you do.

    And if it makes you feel better, I have to write a few comments, too. It’s how I make sure I’m digesting what I’m ready.

    I’ve gotta find time to read the book group book, too. I didn’t think I could come, but now I think I might be able to, so I’ve gotta charge it!

  2. Denise Says:

    Can you hire a grader??? That just seems like an enormous amount of work. Miss you!


Leave a Reply

