A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

tidbits December 20, 2010

Filed under: noticing sweetness — courtsbrogno @ 4:49 pm

*I finished grading essays and exams for the community college and turned in all grades. This means I am finished and don’t have to work until January 3rd. This is one major reason I LOVE my job: holidays and summers off! I am so, so, so thankful.

 

*Got a massage today. I have been thinking about calling my massage therapist for weeks now, but because it’s the holidays and I shouldn’t be spending money on me, I’ve resisted. But then, after finishing a two-week marathon of grading, my back was really killing me. So, I gifted myself and went for the massage. Absolute heaven. My back feels 100 times better and I’m thankful or the hour of complete bliss and relaxation.

*Giving back! TheBlogges (a blog I follow and love) had a post where in the spirit of Christmas, she told readers that she was going to give away $30 gift cards to the first twenty people who didn’t know how they were going to give their kids Christmas presents this year. And, as expected in these harsh economic times, there were many comments and the 20 gift cards went quickly. But then something amazing happened. People started leaving comments that they would also send a gift card to someone in need. And the whole thing just took off. TheBloggess spent many, many, many hours (more than I can even imagine) connecting donors with needed recipients. In just 5 days, 900 gift cards were donated to people in need. Many people sent gift cards for a $100 even. I participated and though I had originally offered to send an amazon gift card for $50, the spirit of giving took over and I wound up sending a $100 amazon gift card to someone I’ve never met, but know needs some help right now. I LOVE this. It’s what Christmas should be all about, and I’m so, so, so thankful that I was able to give back and help. I’m also thankful for TheBloggess for organizing all of this: and all because she had a little idea to give away twenty $30 gift certificates. I’m in awe.

 

Leave a Reply

